Students enrolled in a Maryland institution of higher education
To register to vote, you must be:
- A U.S. citizen;
- A Maryland resident; and
- At least 16 years old*.
You cannot have been:
- Convicted of buying or selling votes;
- Under guardianship for mental disability and found by a court to be unable to communicate a desire to vote; or
- Convicted of a felony and currently serving a court-ordered sentence of imprisonment. (Effective March 10, 2016)
*You may register to vote if you are at least 16 years old but cannot vote unless you will be at least 18 years old by the next general election.
To be considered a Maryland resident, your domicile must be in Maryland. Your domicile is the place that you consider to be your 'official' or 'permanent' home, even though it may be different from the place where you are actually living on a short-term or temporary basis. Your domicile will ordinarily be the address you use most frequently on tax returns or other government documents, driver's license, bank accounts, charge accounts, for insurance purposes, and so forth.
As a student, you may register at your school address only if you consider this address to be your “official” or “permanent” home. That is, if you do not consider your parent’s home to be your home and do not intend to return there after school, your school address may be your residence. Before completing an application through Maryland's Online Voter Registration System (OLVR) or submitting a voter registration application, please consider the address listed on the documents described above and, if you receive financial aid from another state or jurisdiction, you should verify with the appropriate authority whether changing your residency impacts your eligibility for financial aid.
If you choose not to register in Maryland, you can find more information on the National Voter Registration form on the Election Assistance Commission website. If you wish to register to vote in Maryland, read the Maryland resident registration information.